Strategy

The area's primary focus is on organizational strategy and the functions of the chief executive. Research and consulting have been undertaken in such areas as managerial communication, management and analysis of competitive forces in industries, business growth and diversification, turnaround strategies, technology transfer, trans-national investments, management of public enterprises, women studies, small enterprises and entrepreneurship. The area plans to undertake major research on the impact of changes in economic policies on corporate ventures. 

Important courses offered by the area to PGP and FPM students are on strategy formulation and implementation, new venture management, power and politics in strategy implementation, written analysis and communication, managerial oral communication and strategic management. It also offers a very popular program on strategies for competitive advantage for practicing managers. 

The major streams of research and teaching in the Strategy area are business policy, public enterprise management, international business, communication, entrepreneurship and legal aspects of business. Research interests of the faculty include strategic management, environmental analysis, corporate planning, international business, technology transfer and legal aspects of business and corporate communication. In these topics, a student can concentrate on any one of the following types of organizations or a combination: private sector, public sector, government, agriculture and rural sector, small scale industries, cooperatives, mass communication and educational / research scientific institutions.

Entrepreneurship
Entrepreneurship provides the basic nurturing ground in the process of wealth creation. It has emerged as a separate field in management, taking its roots from disciplines such as Economics, Psychology, Sociology and basic management principles.

The objectives of this course are :  

1.  to provide a comprehensive understanding of the basic concepts of entrepreneurship.

2.  to review and understand the important streams of research in entrepreneurship.

3.  to familiarize students with research methodologies.  


Strategic Management
This course conveys the concept of strategy and its usefulness by exposing students to a variety of organizational situations. It enables students to look at organizations in their totality and appreciate the inter-relationship among different functions.

The course helps students understand the strategy of organizations and thereby enables them to

(1) make or assist in the making of major decisions.
(2) formulate functional policies.
(3) participate in the implementation of corporate strategy.

Covers Firm / environment; Strategies and Resources; Strategies and Values; Business Ethics; Industry Structure Analysis; Evaluation of Corporate Strategy; Strategies for Growth and Diversification; Process of Strategic Planning; Stages of Corporate Development; Strategy Implementation through Structure, Values and Ideologies; McKinsey's Framework; Acquisition of Resources and Competence; Management of organizational Change.

Click here for Course Details

 

Area Members:

STRATEGY AREA FACULTY MEMBERS
Primary Faculty Members
Sr. No. Faculty Email Office Telephone Secretary
1 Prof. Anurag Agarwal akagarwal@iima.ac.in Wing 12 +91-79-7152 4916

Ms. Archana Premkumar
archana@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7976

2 Prof. Chirantan Chatterjee chirantanc@iima.ac.in Wing 15 +91-79-7152 4946

Mr. Lalit Sharma
lalit@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7742

3 Prof. Mohammad Fuad mohammad@iima.ac.in Wing 7 +91-79-7152 4869

Ms. Snehal Jethwa
snehal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7931

4 Prof. Amit Karna karna@iima.ac.in Wing 13 +91-79-7152 4928

Ms. Sujatha Jayprakash
sujatha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7743

5 Prof. M P Ram Mohan mprmohan@iima.ac.in Wing 16 +91-79-7152 4956

Ms. Savithri Amma P
savithri@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7938

6 Prof. Akhileshwar Pathak akhil@iima.ac.in Wing 15 +91-79-7152 4943

Mr. Harshad Parmar
harshad@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7771

7 Prof. Sunil Sharma sunilsharma@iima.ac.in Wing 16 +91-79-7152 4835

Ms. Vinodi Raveendran
vinodini@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7974

8 Prof. Chitra Singla chitras@iima.ac.in Wing 9 +91-79-7152 4882

Ms. Viddhi Kotak
viddhik@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7901

9 Prof. Anish Sugathan anishs@iima.ac.in Wing 13 +91-79-7152 4923

Ms. Riddhika H Thaker
riddhikat@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7744

10 Prof. Mukesh Sud mukeshs@iima.ac.in Wing 16 +91-79-7152 4833

Mr. Shoeb Chobdar
shoeb@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7925

Secondary Faculty Members
1 Prof. Rakesh Basant rakesh@iima.ac.in Wing 4 +91-79-7152 4838

Ms. Hena Nair
henan@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7914

2 Prof. Sunil Maheshwari sunilm@iima.ac.in Wing 01 +91-79-7152 4807

Ms. Latha Panicker
latha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7913

3 Prof. Sanjay Verma sverma@iima.ac.in Wing 01 +91-79-7152 4804

Ms. Hetal Shah
hetal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7772

 

Area Chairperson

Prof. Chitra Singla

chr-str@iima.ac.in

Wing 9

+91-79-7152 4882

Area Secretary

Ms. Shylaja Deepak

areasec-str@iima.ac.in

Wing 2K

+91-79-7152 7911

 

Visiting Faculty

  1. Prof. Samir K Barua
  2. Prof. Savan Godiawala
  3. Prof. S Manikutty
  4. Prof. Shailendra Mehta
  5. Prof. Uday Ranpara
  6. Prof. N Venkiteswaran
  7. Prof. N. Ravichandran
  8. Prof. Sujit Kumar
  9. Prof. Farok Contractor
  10. Prof. Prarthan B. Desai
  11. Prof. A K Jain



Academic Associates

Sr. No. Name Email Office Telephone
1 Ms. Ajaydeep Deora ajaydeep@ima.ac.in Wing 12K +91-79-7152 7749
2 Ms. Apoorva Rajvanshi apoorvar@iima.ac.in Wing 16A +91-79-7152 7782
3 Mr. Harshit Khameshra harshitk@iima.ac.in Wing 9A +91-79-7152 7972
4 Ms. Wajihehatuzahra Rizwi wajihehatuzahrar@iima.ac.in Wing 13K +91-79-7152 7756
5 Ms. Kanchi Sanghvi kanchis@iima.ac.in G2 CC +91-79-7152 4137
6 Ms. Priya Porwal priyap@iima.ac.in Wing 14K +91-79-7152 7766
7 Mr. Hardik M. Panchmatia hardikp@iima.ac.in Wing 11 A +91-79-7152 7994
8 Mr. Sanket Sindhav sanketsindhav@iima.ac.in G2 CC +91-79-7152 4137
9 Ms. Vedi Goenka vedig@iima.ac.in Wing 4A +91-79-7152 7927
10 Ms. Surabhi Kochar surabhi@iima.ac.in Wing 9A +91-79-7152 7963

 

Staging Enabled