Production & Quantitative Methods

The principal focus of the Production & Quantitative Methods (P&QM) area is to equip future managers with the necessary tools and techniques that would enable them to take evidence and fact-based decisions in improving business performance in an increasingly data-driven world. In order to achieve that in a business domain, managers should have the ability to assimilate and apply knowledge and skill-sets from diverse areas such as operations management, operations research, statistics and analytics in solving complex business problems. This is where the relevance of this area lie. Faculty members in the P&QM area have expertise in a wide array of disciplines like Operations management, Operations research, Business analytics, Mathematics, Statistics, Public policy and Marketing.

The area offer core and elective courses in Operations management, Operations research, and Statistics across all the programmes of the institute. In addition, faculty members offer a wide array of Executive Education Programmes, both on-campus and online, that cater to a large number of working professionals from diverse backgrounds.

Faculty research interests in operations management are on strategic or operational issues related to manufacturing and service planning, supply chain coordination, shop floor scheduling and improving productivity of plant operations, design of operations, technological change and innovation, R&D capabilities, economics of flexible operations and process planning.

In operations research, faculty members have expertise in linear and integer programming, large scale optimization, combinatorial optimization, revenue management and network optimization. Interest in this area is both in modeling as well as in development of algorithms and heuristics for such problems. Typical application areas for research include finance, logistics, and the process industry.

Faculty research interests in statistics include modeling discrete and financial data, survey sampling, finite population inference, biostatistics, longitudinal and survival analysis, Bayesian inference, reliability analysis, time series analysis, statistical genetics, directional statistics, functional data analysis and stochastic processes.

The complete list of courses on offer with a brief summary of each is proved in the "Courses" link in the left under the area title. Names and official contacts of faculty colleagues are provided below.

Click here for Course Details

P&QM AREA MEMBERS
Sr. No. Faculty Email Office Extn. Secretary Extn.
PRIMARY MEMBERS
1 Prof. Ankur Sinha asinha@iima.ac.in New Faculty Block Room No. C-7 4837 Ms. Anjali Nair
anjalin@iima.ac.in
7742
2 Prof. Arnab.K. Laha arnab@iima.ac.in KLMDC Room No.37 4947 Ms. Shylaja Deepak
shylaja@iima.ac.in
7911
3 Prof. Chetan Soman chetan@iima.ac.in New Faculty Block Room No. C 15 4839 Ms. Ranna Bhatt
rannab@iima.ac.in
7937
4 Prof. Debjit Roy debjit@iima.ac.in KLMDC Room No.62 4823 Ms. Latha Panicker
latha@iima.ac.in
7913
5 Prof. Dhiman Bhadra dhiman@iima.ac.in KLMDC Room No. 19 4893 Ms. Reji Pillai
reji@iima.ac.in
7953
6 Prof. Diptesh Ghosh diptesh@iima.ac.in KLMDC Room No. 7 4917 Mr. Uday Bhanu P G
uday@iima.ac.in
7973
7 Prof. Goutam Dutta goutam@iima.ac.in New Faculty Block Room No. C 10 4828 Ms. Ranna Bhatt
rannab@iima.ac.in
7937
8 Prof. Karthik Sriram (Chairperson) karthiks@iima.ac.in KLMDC Room No. 20 4875 Ms. Riddhi Majithiya
riddhim@iima.ac.in
7926
9 Prof. Maya Ganesh mayag@iima.ac.in IMDC Room No.7 4407 Ms.Vinodini Raveendran
vinodini@iima.ac.in
7974
10 Prof. Prahalad Venkateshan prahalad@iima.ac.in KLMDC Room No. 43 4894 Ms.Viddhi P. Kotak
vanitham@iima.ac.in
7901
11 Prof. Sachin Jayaswal sachin@iima.ac.in KLMDC Room No. 41 4877 Mr. Hiren N. Shah
hirens@iima.ac.in
7952
12 Prof. Saral Mukherjee saralm@iima.ac.in New Faculty Block Room No. C 3 4929 Vaishali Joshi
vaishalij@iima.ac.in
7743
13 Prof. Sriram Sankaranarayanan srirams@iima.ac.in New Faculty Block Room No B 17 4805 Mr.Hiren N. Shah
hirens@iima.ac.in
7952
14 Prof. T. Bandyopadhyay tathagata@iima.ac.in New Faculty Block Room No. A 1 4808 Mr.Uday Bhanu P G
uday@iima.ac.in
7973
SECONDARY MEMBERS
1. Prof. Arindam Banerjee arindam@iima.ac.in New Faculty Block Room No.C 11 4898 Ms.Ranna Bhatt
rannab@iima.ac.in
7937
2. Prof. Sundaravalli Narayanaswami sundaravallin@iima.ac.in KLMDC Room No. 24 4942 Mr. Harshad Parmar
harsad@iima.ac.in
7771

 

Area Chairperson Prof. Karthik Sriram chr-pqm@iima.ac.in KLMDC Room No. 20 4875
Area Secretary Ms. Vinodini Raveendran (Assist Manager - P&QM Area) areasec-pqm@iima.ac.in KLMDC 7974

 

Visiting Faculty

  • Prof. N Ravichandran
  • Prof. Shardul Phadnis
  • Prof. G. Raghuram

 

Academic Associates

S N Name Email Office Extn.
1 Abhay Kumar abhayk@iima.ac.in RA-10 , New  campus 4430
2 Aditi Yadav aditiy@iima.ac.in CC G-1 table 2. 7977
3 Anjali Abichandani anjalia@iima.ac.in KLMDC con. Room 7754
4 Dhawani Shah dhawanis@iima.ac.in KLMDC Con. room 7757
5 Jaydeep Gohel jaydeepg@iima.ac.in KLMDC coffee shop 7950
6 Najma Barkat najmab@iima.ac.in KLMDC 7785
7 Ritika Bothra ritikab@iima.ac.in KLMDC con. Room 7752
8 Vaidant Dixit vaidantd@iima.ac.in KLMDC 7905
9 Virali Vora  viraliv@iima.ac.in RA 2, New Campus  4422

 

Staging Enabled