Production & Quantitative Methods

The principal focus of the Production & Quantitative Methods (P&QM) area is to equip future managers with the necessary tools and techniques that would enable them to take evidence and fact-based decisions in improving business performance in an increasingly data-driven world. In order to achieve that in a business domain, managers should have the ability to assimilate and apply knowledge and skill-sets from diverse areas such as operations management, operations research, statistics and analytics in solving complex business problems. This is where the relevance of this area lie. Faculty members in the P&QM area have expertise in a wide array of disciplines like Operations management, Operations research, Business analytics, Mathematics, Statistics, Public policy and Marketing.

The area offer core and elective courses in Operations management, Operations research, and Statistics across all the programmes of the institute. In addition, faculty members offer a wide array of Executive Education Programmes, both on-campus and online, that cater to a large number of working professionals from diverse backgrounds.

Faculty research interests in operations management are on strategic or operational issues related to manufacturing and service planning, supply chain coordination, shop floor scheduling and improving productivity of plant operations, design of operations, technological change and innovation, R&D capabilities, economics of flexible operations and process planning.

In operations research, faculty members have expertise in linear and integer programming, large scale optimization, combinatorial optimization, revenue management and network optimization. Interest in this area is both in modeling as well as in development of algorithms and heuristics for such problems. Typical application areas for research include finance, logistics, and the process industry.

Faculty research interests in statistics include modeling discrete and financial data, survey sampling, finite population inference, biostatistics, longitudinal and survival analysis, Bayesian inference, reliability analysis, time series analysis, statistical genetics, directional statistics, functional data analysis and stochastic processes.

The complete list of courses on offer with a brief summary of each is proved in the "Courses" link in the left under the area title. Names and official contacts of faculty colleagues are provided below.

Click here for Course Details

P&QM AREA MEMBERS
Sr. No. Faculty Email Office Telephone Secretary
PRIMARY MEMBERS
1 Prof. Tathagata Bandyopadhyay tathagata@iima.ac.in Wing 01H +91-79-7152 4808 Mr. P.G. Uday Bhanu
uday@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4891
2 Prof. Dhiman Bhadra dhiman@iima.ac.in Wing 10C +91-79-7152 4893 Ms. Reji Pillai
reji@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4871
3 Prof. Goutam Dutta goutam@iima.ac.in Wing 03H +91-79-7152 4828 Mr. P.V. Sethumadhavan
pvsethu@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4851
4 Prof. Diptesh Ghosh diptesh@iima.ac.in Wing 12G +91-79-7152 4917 Mr. P.G. Uday Bhanu
uday@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4891
5 Prof. Apratim Guha (on long leave) apratim@iima.ac.in Wing 01C +91-79-7152 4803 Ms. Sujatha Jayprakash
sujatha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4911
6 Prof. Sachin Jayaswal sachin@iima.ac.in Wing 08G +91-79-7152 4877 Mr. Hiren N. Shah
hirens@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4851
7 Prof. Arnab.K. Laha arnab@iima.ac.in Wing 15G +91-79-7152 4947 Ms. Shylaja Deepak
shylaja@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4820
8 Prof. Saral Mukherjee saralm@iima.ac.in Wing 13J +91-79-7152 4929 Ms. Sujatha Jayprakash
sujatha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4911
9 Prof. Debjit Roy debjit@iima.ac.in Wing 03C +91-79-7152 4823 Ms. Latha Panicker
latha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4531
10 Prof. Ankur Sinha asinha@iima.ac.in Wing 04G +91-79-7152 4837 Ms. Rini Vinod
rini@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4311
11 Prof. Chetan Soman chetan@iima.ac.in Wing 04J +91-79-7152 4839 Ms. Kavitha Sudheeran
kavithas@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4840
12 Prof. Karthik Sriram karthiks@iima.ac.in Wing 08E +91-79-7152 4875 Ms. Vanitha Mudaliar
vanitham@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4820
13 Prof. Prahalad Venkateshan prahalad@iima.ac.in Wing 10D +91-79-7152 4584 Ms. Vanitha Mudaliar
vanitham@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4820
SECONDARY MEMBERS
1. Prof. Arindam Banerjee arindam@iima.ac.in Wing 10H +91-79-7152 4898 Mr. P.V. Sethumadhavan
pvsethu@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4851
2. Prof. Rama Mohan Turaga mohant@iima.ac.in Wing 06G +91-79-7152 4857 Mr. Suresh M
sureshm@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4891
3. Prof. Sundaravalli Narayanaswami sundaravallin@iima.ac.in Wing 15B +91-79-7152 4942 Mr. Harshad Parmar
harsad@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4941

 

Area Chairperson Prof. Sachin Jayaswal chr-pqm@iima.ac.in Wing 08G +91-79-7152 4877
Area Secretary Ms. Vinodini Raveendran areasec-pqm@iima.ac.in Wing 10A +91-79-7152 4891

 

Academic Associates

Sr. No. Name Office Telephone Email
01 Ms. Hetal Rao Wing 11 K +91-79-7152 4910 hetalr@iima.ac.in
02 Ms. Dhara Shah Wing 10 K +91-79-7152 4900 dharas@iima.ac.in
03 Ms. Shilpa Nagre Wing 9 A +91-79-7152 4881 shilpan@iima.ac.in
04 Ms. Madhuri Jha Wing 4 K +91-79-7152 4840 madhurij@iima.ac.in
05 Ms. Anjali Abichandani Wing 13A +91-79-7152 4921 anjalia@iima.ac.in
06 Ms. Dhawani Shah Wing 13K +91-79-7152 4930 dhawanis@iima.ac.in
07 Mr. Jaydeep Gohel Wing 7K +91-79-7152 4870 jaydeepg@iima.ac.in
08 Ms. Najma Barkat Wing 16A +91-79-7152 4951 najmab@iima.ac.in
Adhoc Academic Associate
01 Mr. Amit Bachani Wing 7K +91-79-7152 4870 amitb@iima.ac.in

 

Staging Enabled