Organizational Behaviour

The Organizational Behaviour (OB) area is internationally recognized for its teaching and research. Faculty members in the area have diverse research interests which include individual and interpersonal effectiveness, job involvement, gender issues at the workplace, work attitude, organizational excellence, human resources development, managerial culture and values, organizational dynamics and design, organizational learning, management of change and strategic organizations.

If students have an interest to apply their knowledge in their basic discipline such as psychology or sociology to the organizational context, research in OB will allow them to do so. It is not necessary for candidates to have an MBA degree, or a degree in psychology or sociology, to do an FPM in the area. Rather, students from diverse disciplines are encouraged to apply for the doctoral programme in OB.

Additional Eligibility Criteria

Organizational Behaviour: Common Admission Test (CAT) of the Indian Institutes of Management/UGC JRF in relevant discipline/GRE/GMAT.

Area-Specific Courses*:

  1. Advanced Micro OB
  2. Classics and Perspectives in OB
  3. Methods of Qualitative Research: Gathering and Analyzing Data
  4. Micro OB
  5. Organization Theory and its Social Context
  6. Organizational Structure and Processes
  7. Psychology I
  8. Psychology II
  9. Research Methods I
  10. Sociopolitical Context for Research in Management
  11. Structural Equation Modeling
  12. Crafting and Publishing of Research
  13. Psychometric Methods
  14. Advanced Techniques in Quantitative Research

*The list is indicative. Courses offered may vary from year to year. 


Area Members:
Primary Faculty Members
Prof. Premilla D'Cruz <pdcruz@iima.ac.in>
Prof. George Kandathil <gmk@iima.ac.in>
Prof. Parvinder Gupta <pgupta@iima.ac.in>
Prof. Vishal Gupta <vishal@iima.ac.in>
Prof. Pradyumana Khokle <khokle@iima.ac.in>
Prof. K V Gopakumar <kvgopakumar@iima.ac.in>
Prof. Amit K. Nandkeolyar <amitn@iima.ac.in>
Prof. Ernesto Norohna <enoronha@iima.ac.in>
Prof. Kirti Sharda <kirti@iima.ac.in>
Prof. Neharika Vohra <neharika@iima.ac.in>

Adjunct Faculty Member
Prof. Deepti Bhatnagar <deepti@iima.ac.in>

Staging Enabled