Economics

The Economics Area of IIMA is a vibrant centre of research and teaching on diverse topics spanning the worlds of theory and practice using cutting-edge research methods. It has had a distinguished history with a former faculty member (C Rangarajan) serving as the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India and faculty being involved in monetary policy and advisory committees. Several former PGP/MBA students from IIMA have gone on to make important contributions in the world of Economics, such as Sanjeev Goyal, Raghuram Rajan, and Arvind Subramanian. In recent years, the Area has grown in strength to study and teach more fields outside its traditional focus on macroeconomics, including subjects rarely covered in India such as behavioural economics, economics of networks and economic history.

The faculty of the Economics Area do consulting projects for various stakeholders, serve on government committees in various capacities, do theoretical and empirical research and above all, are passionate about teaching.

IIM-A Economics Area faculty conduct research in the following broad areas:

  • Agricultural economics
  • Applied game theory
  • Applied macroeconomics
  • Applied microeconomics
  • Balance of payments
  • Banking
  • Behavioural economics
  • Business & economic history
  • Capital markets
  • Competition
  • Determinants of enterprise level capabilities
  • Development economics
  • Experimental economics
  • Export behavior and performance of firms
  • Financial economics
  • Firm level responses to policy initiatives
  • Fiscal policy at national and state levels
  • Foreign direct investment
  • Foreign exchange management
  • Game theory
  • Gender discrimination
  • Gender economics
  • Health economics
  • Industrial organization
  • Infrastructure
  • Intellectual property rights
  • International finance
  • International macroeconomics
  • International trade
  • Labour economics
  • Mathematical economics
  • Mechanism design
  • Micro, small, and medium enterprises
  • Migration
  • Monetary policy in India
  • Network theory
  • Pharmaceuticals - business strategy and policy
  • Privatization
  • Public finance/Public economics
  • Public policy
  • Regional disparities in growth patterns
  • Regional science
  • Regulation
  • Research & development
  • Sources of economic growth in India
  • State owned enterprises
  • Taxation and deficit financing
  • Technology
  • Urban economics

 

Details on former faculty in the Economics Area are available at this link.

 

Area Members:

ECONOMICS AREA MEMBERS
Sr.No. Faculty Email Office Telephone Secretary
PRIMARY MEMBERS

1.

Prof. Anindya S. Chakrabarti

anindyac@iima.ac.in

KLMDC

Room No. 54

+91-79-7152 4385

Ms. Vanitha

vanitha@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 7912

2.

Prof. Tarun Jain

tarunj@iima.ac.in

KLMDC

Room No. 31

+91-79-7152 4955

Ms. Snehal

snehal@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 7931

3.

Prof. Abhiman Das

abhiman@iima.ac.in

KLMDC

Room No. 14

+91-79-7152 4936

Ms. Riddhi

riddhim@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 7926

5.

Prof. Satish Y. Deodhar

satish@iima.ac.in

KLMDC

Room No. 4

+91-79-7152 4817

Mr. Pritesh

priteshp@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 7973

6.

Prof. Pritha Dev

pritha@iima.ac.in

KLMDC

Room No. 25

+91-79-7152 4934

Mr. Harshad

harshad@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 7771

7.

Prof. Errol D’Souza

errol@iima.ac.in

Faculty New Block

A 7-8 &11

+91-79-7152 4866

Mr. Amit

director@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 4848

8.

Prof. Sanket Mohapatra

sanketm@iima.ac.in

KLMDC

Room No. 35

+91-79-7152 4806

Ms. Viddhi

viddhik@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 7901

9.

Prof. Viswanath Pingali

viswanath@iima.ac.in

Faculty New Block

C - 9

+91-79-7152 4859

Ms. Anjali Nair

anjalin@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 7742

10.

Prof. Jeevant Rampal

jeevantr@iima.ac.in

KLMDC

Room No. 60

+91-79-7152 4939

Ms. Foram Panwar

foramp@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 7938

11.

Prof. Chinmay Tumbe

chinmayt@iima.ac.in

KLMDC

Room No. 55

+91-79-7152 4902

Ms. Reji

reji@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 7953

12.

Prof. Mohsen Mohaghegh

mohsenm@iima.ac.in

Faculty Block

R-09 NC

+91-79-7152 4409

Ms.Shylaja Deepak

shylaja@iima.ac.in

+91-79-7152 7911

ADJUNCT FACULTY

1.

Prof. Chirantan Chatterjee

chirantanc@iima.ac.in

Ms. Kavitha Sudheeran
kavithas@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7930

VISITING FACULTY

1.

Prof. Sebastian Morris

morris@iima.ac.in

2.

Prof. Madhusudan Mohanty

madhu.mohanty2304@gmail.com

SECONDARY MEMBERS

1.

Prof. Ranjan Kumar Ghosh

ranjang@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 58

+91-79 7152 4913

Ms. Viddhi
viddhik@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7901

2.

Prof. Ankur Sarin

asarin@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 39

+91-79-7152 4826

Mr. Pritesh Parmar
priteshp@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7973

3.

Prof. Hari K Nagarajan

hknagarajan@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 15

+91-79-7152 4819

Ms. Hena
henan@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7914

 

Area Chairperson

Prof. Tarun Jain

chr-eco@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 31

+91-79-7152 4955

Area Secretary

Ms. Kavitha Sudheeran

execsec-eco@iima.ac.in

C-18
Faculty New Block

+91-79-7152 7930

 

Economics Area PhD. Students

Sr No Name Email

1

Divyanshu Jain

phd21divyanshuj@iima.ac.in

2

Shaurya Saxena

phd21shauryas@iima.ac.in

3

Abhishek Tripathy

phd20abhishekt@iima.ac.in

4

Janani Rangan

phd20jananir@iima.ac.in

5

Vinay Kumar Jha

phd20vinayj@iima.ac.in

6

Abhishek Shaw

fpm19abhisheks@iima.ac.in

7

Sawan Rathi

fpm19sawanr@iima.ac.in

8

Abinash Mishra

fpm18abinashm@iima.ac.in

9

Amrita Roy

pm18amritar@iima.ac.in

10

Piyush Ozarde

fpm18piyusho@iima.ac.in

11

Varun Yadav

fpm17varuny@iima.ac.in

12

Dhruv Goel

fpm17dhruvg@iima.ac.in

13

Swarna Parameswaran

fpm16swarnap@iima.ac.in

 

Academic Associates

Sr. No.

Name

Email

Office

1

Ashu Arora

ashua@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Cafeteria - 53

2

Neil Oomen

neilo@iima.ac.in

G-2/ CC - Table- 2

3

Jesal Tejwani

jesalt@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Cafeteria - 51

4

Pulkita Jain

pulkitaj@iima.ac.in

Dorm 15 - Room No. 16

5

Sukriti Pandey

sukritip@iima.ac.in

KLMDC- Conference Hall -Desk- 77

6

Amrendra Kushwaha

amrendrak@iima.ac.in

Dorm 15 - Room No. 16

 

 

LIST OF COURSES

The Economics Area Faculty offer the following courses in various programme.

PGP Compulsory Courses

  1. Microeconomics (ME)
  2. Macroeconomics (MEP)


PGP Electives

  1. Economics of Organizatio (EOO)
  2. Monetary Theory and Policy (MTP)
  3. Behavioral and Experimental Economics (BEE)
  4. Global Finance and Trade (GFT)
  5. Managerial Econometrics (MEM)
  6. Hitchhiker’s Guide to Business and Economies Across Five Centuries (HITCH)
  7. Game Theory and Applications (GTA)
  8. Gender and Work (GAW)
  9. Economic Environment and Policy in India (EEPI)
  10. Indian Economy and Society Today (IEST)
  11. Inequality and Economic Policies (IEP)
  12. Emerging Market Monetary Theory and Finance (EMMPF)
  13. Urban Economy and Business Environment (Urban) (UEBE)
  14. Economic Ideas from Ancient India ( EIAI)
  15. Health Economics (HE)
  16. Economics of Food Quality (EFQ)
  17. Auctions and Market Design (AMD)
  18. Economic Development Policy and Growth (EDPG)
  19. World Economy: Business, Government and Policy (WEBGP)

 

PGPX Compulsory Courses

  1. Firms and Markets (FAM)
  2. Open Economy Macroeconomics (OEM)

 

PGPX Electives

  1. Indian Economy in Comparative Perspective (IECP)
  2. Infrastructure Development and Public Private Partnership (Joint with PSG) (IDPPP)
  3. Game Theory and Experiments (GTE)
  4. Global Finance and Trade (GFT)
  5. Hitchhiker’s Guide to Business and Economies Across Five Centuries (HITCH)
  6. Health Economics(HE)

 

ePGP

  1. Business, Government and Macro Policy (BGMP)
  2. Indian Economy and Society (IES)
  3. Future of Work and its Markets (FWIM)

 

ePGD-ABA

  1. Network Analysis (NA)
  2. Time Series Analysis (TSA)
  3. Panel Data Analysis (PDA)

 

PhD Compulsory Courses

  1. Mathematics for Economics
  2. Microeconomics – I
  3. Microeconomics – II
  4. Macroeconomics – I
  5. Macroeconomics – II
  6. Econometrics-I

 

PhD Elective Courses

  1. Organizational Economics (OE)
  2. Time Series Analysis (TSA)
  3. Data Envelopment Analysis (DEA)
  4. Econometrics II
  5. Industrial Organisation Theory (IOT)
  6. Applied Financial Economics (AFE)
  7. Foundations of New Institutional Economics (FNIE) (with CMA)
  8. Decentralization and Public Policy (DPP)
  9. Economics Of Strategy (EOS)
  10. Global Business And Economic History (GBEH)
  11. Applied Game Theory (AGT)
  12. Computational Economics (CMM)
  13. Economics of Development (ED)
Staging Enabled