Economics

The Economics Area of IIMA is a vibrant centre of research and teaching on diverse topics spanning the worlds of theory and practice using cutting-edge research methods. It has had a distinguished history with a former faculty member (C Rangarajan) serving as the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India and faculty being involved in monetary policy and advisory committees. Several former PGP/MBA students from IIMA have gone on to make important contributions in the world of Economics, such as Sanjeev Goyal, Raghuram Rajan, and Arvind Subramanian. In recent years, the Area has grown in strength to study and teach more fields outside its traditional focus on macroeconomics, including subjects rarely covered in India such as behavioural economics, economics of networks and economic history.

The faculty of the Economics Area do consulting projects for various stakeholders, serve on government committees in various capacities, do theoretical and empirical research and above all, are passionate about teaching.

IIM-A Economics Area faculty conduct research in the following broad areas:

  • Agricultural economics
  • Applied game theory
  • Applied macroeconomics
  • Applied microeconomics
  • Balance of payments
  • Banking
  • Behavioural economics
  • Business & economic history
  • Capital markets
  • Competition
  • Determinants of enterprise level capabilities
  • Development economics
  • Experimental economics
  • Export behavior and performance of firms
  • Financial economics
  • Firm level responses to policy initiatives
  • Fiscal policy at national and state levels
  • Foreign direct investment
  • Foreign exchange management
  • Game theory
  • Gender discrimination
  • Gender economics
  • Health economics
  • Industrial organization
  • Infrastructure
  • Intellectual property rights
  • International finance
  • International macroeconomics
  • International trade
  • Labour economics
  • Mathematical economics
  • Mechanism design
  • Micro, small, and medium enterprises
  • Migration
  • Monetary policy in India
  • Network theory
  • Pharmaceuticals - business strategy and policy
  • Privatization
  • Public finance/Public economics
  • Public policy
  • Regional disparities in growth patterns
  • Regional science
  • Regulation
  • Research & development
  • Sources of economic growth in India
  • State owned enterprises
  • Taxation and deficit financing
  • Technology
  • Urban economics

 

Details on former faculty in the Economics Area are available at this link.

 

Area Members:

ECONOMICS AREA MEMBERS
Sr.No. Faculty Email Office Telephone Secretary
PRIMARY MEMBERS

1.

Prof. Rakesh Basant

rakesh@iima.ac.in

Faculty New Block B – 2

+91-79-7152 4838

Ms. Hena
henan@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7914

2.

Prof. Anindya S. Chakrabarti

anindyac@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 54

+91-79-7152 4385

Ms. Vanitha
vanitha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7912

3.

Prof. Chirantan Chatterjee

chirantanc@iima.ac.in

Faculty New Block C - 8

+91-79-7152 4946

Mr. Lalit
lalit@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7742

4.

Prof. Abhiman Das

abhiman@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 14

+91-79-7152 4936

Ms. Riddhi
riddhim@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7926

5.

Prof. Satish Y. Deodhar

satish@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 4

+91-79-7152 4817

Mr. Udaybhanu
uday@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7973

6.

Prof. Pritha Dev

pritha@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 25

+91-79-7152 4934

Mr. Harshad
harshad@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7771

7.

Prof. Errol D'Souza

errol@iima.ac.in

Faculty New Block A 7-8 &11

+91-79-7152 4866

Mr. Amit
director@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4848

8.

Prof. Sanket Mohapatra

sanketm@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 35

+91-79-7152 4806

Ms. Viddhi
viddhik@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7901

9.

Prof. Viswanath Pingali

viswanath@iima.ac.in

Faculty New Block C - 9

+91-79-7152 4859

Ms. Lalit
lalit@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7742

10.

Prof. Jeevant Rampal

jeevantr@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 60

+91-79-7152 4939

Ms. Savithri
savithri@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7938

11.

Prof. Chinmay Tumbe

chinmayt@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 55

+91-79-7152 4902

Ms. Reji
reji@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7953

12.

Prof. Tarun Jain

tarunj@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 31

+91-79-7152 4955

Ms. Snehal Jethva
snehal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7931

PROFESSOR OF PRACTICE

1.

Dr. Y. V. Reddy
(Professor of Practice)

info@yvreddy.com

 

 

 

VISITING FACULTY

1.

Prof. Raaj Sah
(Distinguished Faculty)

raajsah@iima.ac.in

 

+91-79-7152 4835

Ms. Hena
henan@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7914

2.

Prof. Sebastian Morris

morris@iima.ac.in

Faculty New Block B - 17

+91-79-7152 4805

Ms. Riddhika
riddhikat@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7744

SECONDARY MEMBERS

1.

Prof. Ranjan Kumar Ghosh

ranjang@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 58

+91-79 7152 4913

Ms. Viddhi
viddhik@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7901

2.

Prof. Arvind Sahay

asahay@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 3

+91-79-7152 4896

Ms. Sujatha
sujatha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7743

3.

Prof. Ankur Sarin

asarin@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 39

+91-79-7152 4826

Mr. Udaybhanu
uday@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7973

4.

Prof. Vineet Virmani

vineetv@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 50

+91-79-7152 4868

Ms. Monica
monicap@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7935

5.

Prof. Hari K Nagarajan

hknagarajan@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 15

+91-79-7152 4819

Ms. Hena
henan@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 7914

 

Area Chairperson

Prof. Sanket Mohapatra

chr-eco@iima.ac.in

KLMDC Room No. 35

+91-79-7152 4806

Area Secretary

Mr. Ankur Sumesra

areasec-eco@iima.ac.in

KLMDC

+91-79-7152 7936

 

Economics Area PhD. Students

Sr No Name Email
1 Abhishek Shaw fpm19abhisheks@iima.ac.in
2 Abinash Mishra fpm18abinashm@iima.ac.in
3 Amrita Roy fpm18amritar@iima.ac.in
4 Dhruv Goel fpm17dhruvg@iima.ac.in
5 Mitul Surana mituls@iima.ac.in
6 Pavneet Singh pavneets@iima.ac.in
7 Piyush Ozarde fpm18piyusho@iima.ac.in
8 Sawan Rathi fpm19sawanr@iima.ac.in
9 Sharmi Sen fpm18sharmis@iima.ac.in
10 Swarna Parameswaran fpm16swarnap@iima.ac.in
11 Varun Yadav fpm17varuny@iima.ac.in

 

Academic Associates

Sr. No. Name Email Office Telephone
1 Mr. Ashutosh Karewar ashutoshk@iima.ac.in RA 5 (NC) +91-79-7152 4425
2 Ms. Reema Lucia reemal@iima.ac.in Wing 7 A +91-79-7152 4861
3 Mr. Mohammed Hashim hashimtk@iima.ac.in Wing 16 A +91-79-7152 4961
4 Ms. Sristhi Singh sristhis@iima.ac.in Wing 8 A +91-79-7152 4871
5 Mr. Aveek Saha aveeks@iima.ac.in RA 7 (NC) +91-79-7152 4427
6 Ms. Poorvi Anchalia poorvia@iima.ac.in Wing 1 A +91-79-7152 4810

 

 

LIST OF COURSES

The Economics Area faculty offer the following courses in various programs.

PGP Compulsory Courses

  1. Microeconomics (ME)
  2. Macroeconomics and Policy (MEP)


PGP Electives

  1. Applied Agricultural Trade and Policy Analysis (AATPA)
  2. Auctions (AU)
  3. Behavioral and Experimental Economics (BEE)
  4. Economic Development Policy and Growth (EDPG)
  5. Economics of Food Quality (EFQ)
  6. Economics and Management of Biopharmaceutical Industry (Jointly With BP Area) (EMBI)
  7. Economics of Organization (EO)
  8. Economics of Strategy (EoS)
  9. Game Theory and Applications (GTA)
  10. Global Finance and Trade (GFT)
  11. Governance and Regulation in the Financial Sector (GRFS)
  12. Hitchhiker's Guide to Business and Economies Across Five Centuries (HITCH)
  13. Indian Economy and Society Today (IEST)
  14. Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Big Data (IPBD)
  15. Managerial Econometrics (MEM)
  16. Monetary Theory and Policy (MTP)
  17. Personnel Economics (PE)
  18. Real Estate Management (REM)
  19. Social Policy (SP)
  20. Urban Economy and Business Environment (Urban) (UEBE)
  21. World Economy: Business, Government and Policy (WEBGP)

 

First Year Area FPM (Compulsory) Course

  1. Mathematics for Economists
  2. Microeconomics – I
  3. Microeconomics – II
  4. Macroeconomics – I
  5. Macroeconomics – II
  6. Econometrics-I

 

Second Year Area Elective Courses:

  1. Computational Economics
  2. Econometrics II
  3. Time Series Analysis
  4. Advanced Macroeconomics
  5. Development Economics
  6. Public Finance (with PSG)
  7. Organizational Economics
  8. Economics Of Strategy ​
  9. Global Business And Economic History 
  10. Data Envelopment Analysis
  11. Public Policy and Economics of the Transport Sector
  12. Decentralization and Public Policy
  13. Foundations of New Institutional Economics (with CMA)

 

PGP-X Compulsory Courses

  1. Firms and Markets (FAM)
  2. Open Economy Macroeconomics (OEM)

 

PGPX Electives

  1. Future of Work And Its Markets (FWIM)
  2. Game Theory and Experiments (GTE)
  3. Indian Economy in Comparative Perspective (IECP)
  4. Infrastructure Development and Public Private Partnership (Joint with PSG) (IDPPP)
  5. International Economic and Political Environment (IEPE)

 

FDP

Economic Environment and Policy (EEP)

Staging Enabled