Economics

The Economics Area of IIMA is a vibrant centre of research and teaching on diverse topics spanning the worlds of theory and practice using cutting-edge research methods. It has had a distinguished history with a former faculty member (C Rangarajan) serving as the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India and faculty being involved in monetary policy and advisory committees. Several former PGP/MBA students from IIMA have gone on to make important contributions in the world of Economics, such as Sanjeev Goyal, Raghuram Rajan, and Arvind Subramanian. In recent years, the Area has grown in strength to study and teach more fields outside its traditional focus on macroeconomics, including subjects rarely covered in India such as behavioural economics, economics of networks and economic history.

The faculty of the Economics Area do consulting projects for various stakeholders, serve on government committees in various capacities, do theoretical and empirical research and above all, are passionate about teaching.

IIM-A Economics Area faculty conduct research in the following broad areas:

  • Agricultural economics
  • Applied game theory
  • Applied macroeconomics
  • Applied microeconomics
  • Balance of payments
  • Banking
  • Behavioural economics
  • Business & economic history
  • Capital markets
  • Competition
  • Determinants of enterprise level capabilities
  • Development economics
  • Experimental economics
  • Export behavior and performance of firms
  • Financial economics
  • Firm level responses to policy initiatives
  • Fiscal policy at national and state levels
  • Foreign direct investment
  • Foreign exchange management
  • Game theory
  • Gender discrimination
  • Gender economics
  • Health economics
  • Industrial organization
  • Infrastructure
  • Intellectual property rights
  • International finance
  • International macroeconomics
  • International trade
  • Labour economics
  • Mathematical economics
  • Mechanism design
  • Micro, small, and medium enterprises
  • Migration
  • Monetary policy in India
  • Network theory
  • Pharmaceuticals - business strategy and policy
  • Privatization
  • Public finance/Public economics
  • Public policy
  • Regional disparities in growth patterns
  • Regional science
  • Regulation
  • Research & development
  • Sources of economic growth in India
  • State owned enterprises
  • Taxation and deficit financing
  • Technology
  • Urban economics

 

Details on former faculty in the Economics Area are available at this link.

 

Area Members:

ECONOMICS AREA MEMBERS
Sr.No. Faculty Email Office Telephone Secretary
PRIMARY MEMBERS

1.

Prof. Rakesh Basant

rakesh@iima.ac.in

Wing 4 H

+91-79-7152 4838

Mr. George
george@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4831

2.

Prof. Anindya S. Chakrabarti

anindyac@iima.ac.in

Wing 9 F

+91-79-7152 4385

Ms. Vanitha
vanitha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4820

3.

Prof. Chirantan Chatterjee

chirantanc@iima.ac.in

Wing 15 F

+91-79-7152 4946

Mr. George
george@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4831

4.

Prof. Abhiman Das

abhiman@iima.ac.in

Wing 14 F

+91-79-7152 4936

Ms. Rag Deepak
raagdeepak@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4831

5.

Prof. Satish Y. Deodhar

satish@iima.ac.in

Wing 2 G

+91-79-7152 4817

Mr. Udaybhanu
uday@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4891

6.

Prof. Pritha Dev

pritha@iima.ac.in

Wing 14 D

+91-79-7152 4934

Mr. Harshad
harshad@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4941

7.

Prof. Errol D'Souza

errol@iima.ac.in

Wing 7 F

+91-79-7152 4866

Mr. Amit
director@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4848

8.

Prof. Sanket Mohapatra

sanketm@iima.ac.in

Wing 1 F

+91-79-7152 4806

Ms. Viddhi
viddhik@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4810

9.

Prof. Sebastian Morris

morris@iima.ac.in

Wing 1 E

+91-79-7152 4805

Ms. Rini
rini@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4311

10.

Prof. Viswanath Pingali

viswanath@iima.ac.in

Wing 6 J

+91-79-7152 4859

Ms. Latha
latha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4820

11.

Prof. Jeevant Rampal

jeevantr@iima.ac.in

Wing 14 J

+91-79-7152 4939

Ms. Savithri
savithri@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4851

12.

Prof. Chinmay Tumbe

chinmayt@iima.ac.in

Wing 11 B

+91-79-7152 4902

Ms. Reji
reji@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4941

13.

Prof. Tarun Jain

tarunj@iima.ac.in

Wing 16 E

+91-79-7152 4955

Ms. Snehal Jethva
snehal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4840

SECONDARY MEMBERS

1.

Prof. Ranjan Kumar Ghosh

ranjang@iima.ac.in

Wing 12 C

+91-79 7152 4913

Ms. Snehal Jethva
snehal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4840

2.

Prof. Ajeet N. Mathur

anmathur@iima.ac.in

Wing 6 H

+91-79-7152 4858

Mr. Ankur
asumesra@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4851

3.

Prof. T. T. Ram Mohan

ttr@iima.ac.in

Wing 12 E

+91-79-7152 4915

Mr. Shoeb
shoeb@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4831

4.

Prof. Arvind Sahay

asahay@iima.ac.in

Wing 10 F

+91-79-7152 4896

Ms. Sujatha
sujatha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4911

5.

Prof. Ankur Sarin

asarin@iima.ac.in

Wing 3 F

+91-79-7152 4826

Mr. Udaybhanu
uday@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4891

6.

Prof. Vineet Virmani

vineetv@iima.ac.in

Wing 7 H

+91-79-7152 4868

Mr. U J Anjaria
anjaria@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4851

7.

Prof. Hari K Nagarajan

hknagarajan@iima.ac.in

Wing 2 J

+91-79-7152 4819

Ms. Mini Nair
mini@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4820

PROFESSOR OF PRACTICE

1.

Dr. Y. V. Reddy
(Professor of Practice)

info@yvreddy.com

 

 

 

 

Area Chairperson

Prof. Sanket Mohapatra

chr-eco@iima.ac.in

Wing 1 F

+91-79-7152 4806

Area Secretary

Mr. Ankur Sumesra

areasec-eco@iima.ac.in

Wing 6 A

+91-79-7152 4851

 

Economics Area PhD. Students

Sr No Name Email
1 Abhishek Shaw fpm19abhisheks@iima.ac.in
2 Abinash Mishra fpm18abinashm@iima.ac.in
3 Amrita Roy fpm18amritar@iima.ac.in
4 Dhruv Goel fpm17dhruvg@iima.ac.in
5 Mitul Surana mituls@iima.ac.in
6 Pavneet Singh pavneets@iima.ac.in
7 Piyush Ozarde fpm18piyusho@iima.ac.in
8 Sawan Rathi fpm19sawanr@iima.ac.in
9 Sharmi Sen fpm18sharmis@iima.ac.in
10 Swarna Parameswaran fpm16swarnap@iima.ac.in
11 Varun Yadav fpm17varuny@iima.ac.in

 

Academic Associates

Sr. No. Name Email Office Telephone
1 Mr. Ashutosh Karewar ashutoshk@iima.ac.in RA 5 (NC) +91-79-7152 4425
2 Ms. Reema Lucia reemal@iima.ac.in Wing 7 A +91-79-7152 4861
3 Mr. Mohammed Hashim hashimtk@iima.ac.in Wing 16 A +91-79-7152 4961
4 Ms. Sristhi Singh sristhis@iima.ac.in Wing 8 A +91-79-7152 4871
5 Mr. Aveek Saha aveeks@iima.ac.in RA 7 (NC) +91-79-7152 4427
6 Ms. Poorvi Anchalia poorvia@iima.ac.in Wing 1 A +91-79-7152 4810

 

 

LIST OF COURSES

The Economics Area faculty offer the following courses in various programs.

PGP Compulsory Courses

  1. Microeconomics (ME)
  2. Macroeconomics and Policy (MEP)


PGP Electives

  1. Applied Agricultural Trade and Policy Analysis (AATPA)
  2. Auctions (AU)
  3. Behavioral and Experimental Economics (BEE)
  4. Economic Development Policy and Growth (EDPG)
  5. Economics of Food Quality (EFQ)
  6. Economics and Management of Biopharmaceutical Industry (Jointly With BP Area) (EMBI)
  7. Economics of Organization (EO)
  8. Economics of Strategy (EoS)
  9. Game Theory and Applications (GTA)
  10. Global Finance and Trade (GFT)
  11. Governance and Regulation in the Financial Sector (GRFS)
  12. Hitchhiker's Guide to Business and Economies Across Five Centuries (HITCH)
  13. Indian Economy and Society Today (IEST)
  14. Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Big Data (IPBD)
  15. Managerial Econometrics (MEM)
  16. Monetary Theory and Policy (MTP)
  17. Personnel Economics (PE)
  18. Real Estate Management (REM)
  19. Social Policy (SP)
  20. Urban Economy and Business Environment (Urban) (UEBE)
  21. World Economy: Business, Government and Policy (WEBGP)

 

First Year Area FPM (Compulsory) Course

  1. Mathematics for Economists
  2. Microeconomics – I
  3. Microeconomics – II
  4. Macroeconomics – I
  5. Macroeconomics – II
  6. Econometrics-I

 

Second Year Area Elective Courses:

  1. Computational Economics
  2. Econometrics II
  3. Time Series Analysis
  4. Advanced Macroeconomics
  5. Development Economics
  6. Public Finance (with PSG)
  7. Organizational Economics
  8. Economics Of Strategy ​
  9. Global Business And Economic History 
  10. Data Envelopment Analysis
  11. Public Policy and Economics of the Transport Sector
  12. Decentralization and Public Policy
  13. Foundations of New Institutional Economics (with CMA)

 

PGP-X Compulsory Courses

  1. Firms and Markets (FAM)
  2. Open Economy Macroeconomics (OEM)

 

PGPX Electives

  1. Future of Work And Its Markets (FWIM)
  2. Game Theory and Experiments (GTE)
  3. Indian Economy in Comparative Perspective (IECP)
  4. Infrastructure Development and Public Private Partnership (Joint with PSG) (IDPPP)
  5. International Economic and Political Environment (IEPE)

 

FDP

Economic Environment and Policy (EEP)

Staging Enabled