Economics

The Economics Area of IIMA is a vibrant centre of research and teaching on diverse topics spanning the worlds of theory and practice using cutting-edge research methods. It has had a distinguished history with a former faculty member (C Rangarajan) serving as the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India and faculty being involved in monetary policy and advisory committees. Several former PGP/MBA students from IIMA have gone on to make important contributions in the world of Economics, such as Sanjeev Goyal, Raghuram Rajan, and Arvind Subramanian. In recent years, the Area has grown in strength to study and teach more fields outside its traditional focus on macroeconomics, including subjects rarely covered in India such as behavioural economics, economics of networks and economic history.

The faculty of the Economics Area do consulting projects for various stakeholders, serve on government committees in various capacities, do theoretical and empirical research and above all, are passionate about teaching.

IIM-A Economics Area faculty conduct research in the following broad areas:

  • Agricultural economics
  • Applied game theory
  • Applied macroeconomics
  • Applied microeconomics
  • Balance of payments
  • Banking
  • Behavioural economics
  • Business & economic history
  • Capital markets
  • Competition
  • Determinants of enterprise level capabilities
  • Development economics
  • Experimental economics
  • Export behavior and performance of firms
  • Financial economics
  • Firm level responses to policy initiatives
  • Fiscal policy at national and state levels
  • Foreign direct investment
  • Foreign exchange management
  • Game theory
  • Gender discrimination
  • Gender economics
  • Health economics
  • Industrial organization
  • Infrastructure
  • Intellectual property rights
  • International finance
  • International macroeconomics
  • International trade
  • Labour economics
  • Mathematical economics
  • Mechanism design
  • Micro, small, and medium enterprises
  • Migration
  • Monetary policy in India
  • Network theory
  • Pharmaceuticals - business strategy and policy
  • Privatization
  • Public finance/Public economics
  • Public policy
  • Regional disparities in growth patterns
  • Regional science
  • Regulation
  • Research & development
  • Sources of economic growth in India
  • State owned enterprises
  • Taxation and deficit financing
  • Technology
  • Urban economics

 

Details on former faculty in the Economics Area are available at this link.

 

Area Members:

ECONOMICS AREA MEMBERS
Sr.No. Faculty Email Office Telephone Secretary
PRIMARY MEMBERS

1.

Prof. Rakesh Basant

rakesh@iima.ac.in

Wing 4 H

+91-79-7152 4838

Mr. George
george@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4831

2.

Prof. Anindya S. Chakrabarti

anindyac@iima.ac.in

Wing 9 F

+91-79-7152 4385

Ms. Vanitha
vanitha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4820

3.

Prof. Chirantan Chatterjee

chirantanc@iima.ac.in

Wing 15 F

+91-79-7152 4946

Mr. George
george@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4831

4.

Prof. Abhiman Das

abhiman@iima.ac.in

Wing 14 F

+91-79-7152 4936

Ms. Rag Deepak
raagdeepak@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4831

5.

Prof. Satish Y. Deodhar

satish@iima.ac.in

Wing 2 G

+91-79-7152 4817

Mr. Udaybhanu
uday@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4891

6.

Prof. Pritha Dev

pritha@iima.ac.in

Wing 14 D

+91-79-7152 4934

Mr. Harshad
harshad@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4941

7.

Prof. Errol D'Souza

errol@iima.ac.in

Wing 7 F

+91-79-7152 4866

Mr. Amit
director@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4848

8.

Prof. Reetika Khera

reetikak@iima.ac.in

Wing 9 D

+91-79-7152 4884

Mr. Hiren
hirens@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4871

9.

Prof. Sanket Mohapatra

sanketm@iima.ac.in

Wing 1 F

+91-79-7152 4806

Ms. Viddhi
viddhik@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4810

10.

Prof. Sebastian Morris

morris@iima.ac.in

Wing 1 E

+91-79-7152 4805

Ms. Rini
rini@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4311

11.

Prof. Viswanath Pingali

viswanath@iima.ac.in

Wing 6 J

+91-79-7152 4859

Ms. Latha
latha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4820

12.

Prof. Jeevant Rampal

jeevantr@iima.ac.in

Wing 14 J

+91-79-7152 4939

Ms. Savithri
savithri@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4851

13.

Prof. Chinmay Tumbe

chinmayt@iima.ac.in

Wing 11 B

+91-79-7152 4902

Ms. Reji
reji@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4941

14.

Prof. Tarun Jain

tarunj@iima.ac.in

Wing 16 E

+91-79-7152 4955

Ms. Snehal Jethva
snehal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4840

SECONDARY MEMBERS

1.

Prof. Ranjan Kumar Ghosh

ranjang@iima.ac.in

Wing 12 C

+91-79 7152 4913

Ms. Snehal Jethva
snehal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4840

2.

Prof. Ajeet N. Mathur

anmathur@iima.ac.in

Wing 6 H

+91-79-7152 4858

Mr. Ankur
asumesra@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4851

3.

Prof. T. T. Ram Mohan

ttr@iima.ac.in

Wing 12 E

+91-79-7152 4915

Mr. Shoeb
shoeb@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4831

4.

Prof. Arvind Sahay

asahay@iima.ac.in

Wing 10 F

+91-79-7152 4896

Ms. Sujatha
sujatha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4911

5.

Prof. Ankur Sarin

asarin@iima.ac.in

Wing 3 F

+91-79-7152 4826

Mr. Udaybhanu
uday@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4891

6.

Prof. Vineet Virmani

vineetv@iima.ac.in

Wing 7 H

+91-79-7152 4868

Mr. U J Anjaria
anjaria@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4851

7.

Prof. Hari K Nagarajan

hknagarajan@iima.ac.in

Wing 2 J

+91-79-7152 4819

Ms. Mini Nair
mini@iima.ac.in
+91-79-7152 4820

PROFESSOR OF PRACTICE

1.

Dr. Y. V. Reddy
(Professor of Practice)

info@yvreddy.com

 

 

 

 

Area Chairperson

Prof. Sanket Mohapatra

chr-eco@iima.ac.in

Wing 1 F

+91-79-7152 4806

Area Secretary

Mr. Ankur Sumesra

areasec-eco@iima.ac.in

Wing 6 A

+91-79-7152 4851

 

Economics Area PhD. Students

Sr NoNameEmail
1Abhishek Shawfpm19abhisheks@iima.ac.in
2Abinash Mishrafpm18abinashm@iima.ac.in
3Amrita Royfpm18amritar@iima.ac.in
4Dhruv Goelfpm17dhruvg@iima.ac.in
5Mitul Suranamituls@iima.ac.in
6Pavneet Singhpavneets@iima.ac.in
7Piyush Ozardefpm18piyusho@iima.ac.in
8Sawan Rathifpm19sawanr@iima.ac.in
9Sharmi Senfpm18sharmis@iima.ac.in
10Swarna Parameswaranfpm16swarnap@iima.ac.in
11Varun Yadavfpm17varuny@iima.ac.in

 

Academic Associates

Sr. No.NameEmailOfficeTelephone
1Mr. Ashutosh Karewarashutoshk@iima.ac.inRA 5 (NC)+91-79-7152 4425
2Ms. Reema Luciareemal@iima.ac.inWing 7 A+91-79-7152 4861
3Mr. Mohammed Hashimhashimtk@iima.ac.inWing 16 A+91-79-7152 4961
4Ms. Sristhi Singhsristhis@iima.ac.inWing 8 A+91-79-7152 4871
5Ms. Warsha Thakurwarshat@iima.ac.inWing 4 K+91-79-7152 4840
6Mr. Aveek Sahaaveeks@iima.ac.inWing 6 A+91-79-7152 4851
7Ms. Madhubanti Duttamadhubantid@iima.ac.inWing RA 4+91-79-7152 4424
8Ms. Komal Sajwankomalsajwan@iima.ac.inWing 6 A+91-79-7152 4851
9Ms. Poorvi Anchaliapoorvia@iima.ac.inWing 1 A+91-79-7152 4810
10Ms. Pragya Senpragyas@iima.ac.inWing 13 A+91-79-7152 4921

 

 

LIST OF COURSES

The Economics Area faculty offer the following courses in various programs.

PGP Compulsory Courses

  1. Microeconomics (ME)
  2. Macroeconomics and Policy (MEP)


PGP Electives

  1. Auctions (AU)
  2. Behavioral and Experimental Economics (BEE)
  3. Economic Development Policy and Growth (EDPG)
  4. Economics of Food Quality (EFQ)
  5. Economics and Management of Biopharmaceutical Industry (Jointly With BP Area) (EMBI)
  6. Economics of Organization (EO)
  7. Economics of Strategy (EoS)
  8. Game Theory and Applications (GTA)
  9. Global Finance and Trade (GFT)
  10. Hitchhiker's Guide to Business and Economies Across Five Centuries (HITCH)
  11. Indian Economy and Society Today (IEST)
  12. Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Big Data (IPBD)
  13. Managerial Econometrics (MEM)
  14. Monetary Theory and Policy (MTP)
  15. Personnel Economics (PE)
  16. Real Estate Management (REM)
  17. Social Policy (SP)
  18. Urban Economy and Business Environment (Urban) (UEBE)
  19. World Economy: Business, Government and Policy (WEBGP)

 

First Year Area FPM (Compulsory) Course

  1. Mathematics for Economists
  2. Microeconomics – I
  3. Microeconomics – II
  4. Macroeconomics – I
  5. Macroeconomics – II
  6. Econometrics-I

 

Second Year Area Elective Courses:

  1. Computational Economics
  2. Econometrics II
  3. Time Series Analysis
  4. Advanced Macroeconomics
  5. Development Economics
  6. Public Finance (with PSG)
  7. Organizational Economics
  8. Economics Of Strategy ​
  9. Global Business And Economic History 
  10. Data Envelopment Analysis
  11. Public Policy and Economics of the Transport Sector
  12. Decentralization and Public Policy
  13. Foundations of New Institutional Economics (with CMA)

 

PGP-X Compulsory Courses

  1. Firms and Markets (FAM)
  2. Open Economy Macroeconomics (OEM)

 

PGPX Electives

  1. Future of Work And Its Markets (FWIM)
  2. Game Theory and Experiments (GTE)
  3. Indian Economy in Comparative Perspective (IECP)
  4. Infrastructure Development and Public Private Partnership (Joint with PSG) (IDPPP)
  5. International Economic and Political Environment (IEPE)

 

FDP

Economic Environment and Policy (EEP)

Staging Enabled