Economics

Doctoral Program Seminars
 

Members in the Area conduct research and publish on a variety of themes. Policy related work constitutes a large part of this work and the faculty of the Area has been extensively involved in the formulation and evaluation of public policy. Members explore the rationale and efficacy of policies relating to agriculture, small-scale sector, intellectual property rights, competition, foreign direct investment, technology and state owned enterprises and analyze individual policy instruments in the larger macro-economic context. Recent studies have focused on various issues relating to privatization and financing of public sector enterprises and regulatory and other constraints on the efficiency of the public sector. Linkages between competition law-policy and sector specific regulation are being explored. In addition, significant research is being done in the areas of capital markets, taxation, deficit financing, issues relating to foreign exchange management, balance of payments and broader fiscal and monetary policy in India. The work on fiscal policy reform has had a national as well as a state level focus. Analysis of issues relating to infrastructure has been an important area of work in recent years. Another strand of policy related work has been to investigate firm level responses to various policy initiatives. Other firm level research focuses on the determinants, scope and impact of inter-firm and other alliances in building enterprise level capabilities. Determinants of export behavior and performance of firms is also an important area of firm level research.

Research in the Area has also explored sources of economic growth in India, regional disparities in the country's growth patterns and differential rates of growth of developing countries. Studies relating to rural development, employment, entrepreneurship and industrial clusters are also undertaken. A strand of research on cooperation focuses on issues relating to property rights and incentive structures. Work has also been initiated on the impact of globalization and WTO negotiations on employment, poverty and specific sectors like textiles and the pharmaceuticals industry. Research is not restricted to the Indian economy. Studies analyze developments in East Asia, China, the Commonwealth and other countries.

Most of the research mentioned above involves rigorous analysis of secondary and primary data. Consequently, research in the area grapples with measurement and estimation related issues on a continuing basis. While most of the research is empirical in nature, there is a significant body of work that deals with rational choice, social choice and welfare economic theory. The major focus of research in this area has been the axiomatic characterization of social choice rules in fair division problems and in the theory of elections. Some work on the theoretical underpinnings of corruption has also been undertaken.

International conference on "Network Science in Economics and Finance" at the Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad (IIMA) during December 19-21, 2018
Website : https://conference.iima.ac.in/nsef/

Dr. Y. V. Reddy, former Governor of the Reserve Bank of India and Professor of Practice at IIM Ahmedabad, interacted with IIMA faculty and gave a lecture on the "The Invisible Strengths of Indian Economy" on October 31st, 2018. Dr. Y. V. Reddy also interacted with PGP, PGP-FABM, PGPX, and FPM students on November 1st, 2018.

LIST OF COURSES

The Economics Area faculty offer the following courses in various programs.

PGP Compulsory Courses

  1. Microeconomics (ME)
  2. Macroeconomics and Policy (MEP)


PGP Electives

  1. Economics of Strategy (EoS)
  2. Economics of Happiness (EoH)
  3. Massive Change (MC)
  4. Economics of Organisation (EoO)
  5. Labour Markets in Developing Countries (LMDC)
  6. Monetary Theory and Policy (MTP)
  7. Game Theory and Applications (GTA)
  8. Issues in International Finance for Managers (IIFM)
  9. Indian Economy and Society Today (IEST)
  10. Macroeconomics of India: An Applied Perspective (MIAP)
  11. International Trade and Investment (ITI)
  12. International Trade: Theory and Policy (ITTP)
  13. Economics of Food Quality (EFQ)
  14. Managerial Econometrics (MEM)
  15. World Economy: Business, Government and Policy (WEBGP)
  16. Hitchhiker's Guide to Business and Economies across Five Centuries (HITCH)
  17. Understanding Global Organisational Context (UGOC) – Joint Course with BP Area
  18. Economic Development Policy and Growth (EDPG)


FPM Compulsory Courses

  1. Mathematics for Economists
  2. Microeconomics I
  3. Macroeconomics I
  4. Econometrics I


FPM Electives

  1. ​Microeconomics II
  2. Macroeconomics II
  3. Econometrics  II
  4. Development Economics
  5. Public Finance – Joint Course with PSG Area
  6. Economics of Strategy ​
  7. Economic Development and Growth ​​
  8. Network and Granularity ​ 
  9. Global Business and Economic History 
  10. Impact Evaluation
  11. Advanced Time Series Analysis
  12. Advanced Game Theory

 

PGP-X Compulsory Courses

  1. Firms and Markets (FAM)
  2. Open Economy Macroeconomics (OEM)

 

PGPX Electives

  1. International Economics and Political Environment (IEPE)
  2. Macroeconomic Performance of the Indian Economy in Recent Times (MPIERT)

 

FDP

Economic Environment and Policy (EEP)


Area Members:

ECONOMICS AREA MEMBERS
Sr.No. Faculty Email Office Telephone Secretary
PRIMARY MEMBERS

1.

Prof. Rakesh Basant

rakesh@iima.ac.in

Wing 4 H

+91-79-6632 4838

Mr. George
george@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4831

2.

Prof. Anindya S. Chakrabarti

anindyac@iima.ac.in

Wing 9 F

+91-79-6632 4385

Ms. Lakshmi
lakshmi@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4941

3.

Prof. Chirantan Chatterjee

chirantanc@iima.ac.in

Wing 15 F

+91-79-6632 4946

Mr, George
george@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4831

4.

Prof. Abhiman Das

abhiman@iima.ac.in

Wing 14 F

+91-79-6632 4936

Ms. Vanitha
vanitham@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4820

5.

Prof. Satish Y. Deodhar

satish@iima.ac.in

Wing 2 G

+91-79-6632 4817

Mr. Udaybhanu
uday@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4891

6.

Prof. Pritha Dev

pritha@iima.ac.in

Wing 14 D

+91-79-6632 4934

Mr. Harshad
harshad@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4941

7.

Prof. Errol D'Souza

errol@iima.ac.in

Wing 7 F

+91-79-6632 4866

Mr. Amit
director@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4848

8.

Prof. Reetika Khera

reetikak@iima.ac.in

Wing 9 D

+91-79-6632 4884

Mr. Hiren
hirens@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4871

9.

Prof. Sanket Mohapatra

sanketm@iima.ac.in

Wing 1 F

+91-79-6632 4806

Ms. Snehal
snehal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4791/4840

10.

Prof. Sebastian Morris

morris@iima.ac.in

Wing 1 E

+91-79-6632 4805

Ms. Rini
rini@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4311

11.

Prof. Viswanath Pingali

viswanath@iima.ac.in

Wing 6 J

+91-79-6632 4859

Ms. Latha
latha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4820

12.

Prof. Jeevant Rampal

jeevantr@iima.ac.in

Wing 14 J

+91-79-6632 4939

Ms. Savithri
savithri@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4851

13.

Prof. Chinmay Tumbe

chinmayt@iima.ac.in

Wing 11 B

+91-79-6632 4902

Ms. Lakshmi
lakshmi@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4941

PROFESSOR OF PRACTICE

1.

Dr. Y. V. Reddy
(Professor of Practice)

info@yvreddy.com

 

 

 

VISITING FACULTY

1.

Prof. Raaj Sah
(Distinguished Faculty)

raajsah@iima.ac.in

Wing 4 E

+91-79-6632 4835

Ms. Mini Nair
mini@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4820

SECONDARY MEMBERS

1.

Prof. Ranjan Kumar Ghosh

ranjang@iima.ac.in

Wing 12 C

+91-79 6632 4913

Ms. Snehal Jethva
snehal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4840

2.

Prof. Ajeet N. Mathur

anmathur@iima.ac.in

Wing 6 H

+91-79-6632 4858

Mr. Ankur
asumesra@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4851

3.

Prof. T. T. Ram Mohan

ttr@iima.ac.in

Wing 12 E

+91-79-6632 4915

Mr. Shoeb
shoeb@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4831

4.

Prof. Arvind Sahay

asahay@iima.ac.in

Wing 10 F

+91-79-6632 4896

Ms. Sujatha
sujatha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4911

5.

Prof. Ankur Sarin

asarin@iima.ac.in

Wing 3 F

+91-79-6632 4826

Mr. Udaybhanu
uday@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4891

6.

Prof. Vineet Virmani

vineetv@iima.ac.in

Wing 7 H

+91-79-6632 4868

Mr. U J Anjaria
anjaria@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4851

 

Area Chairperson

Prof. Sanket Mohapatra

chr-eco@iima.ac.in

Wing 1 F

+91-79-6632 4806

Area Secretary

Mr. Ankur Sumesra

areasec-eco@iima.ac.in

Wing 6 A

+91-79-6632 4851



Academic Associates

Sr. No.NameEmailOfficeTelephone
1Mr. Ashutosh Karewarashutoshk@iima.ac.inRA 5 (NC)+91-79-6632 4425
2Mr. Pawan Ghosliyapawang@iima.ac.inRA 9 (NC)+91-79-6632 4428
3Mr. Jayakrishnan Pjayakrishnanp@iima.ac.inRA 9 (NC)+91-79-6632 4429
4Ms. Reema Luciareemal@iima.ac.inWing 7 A+91-79-6632 4861
5Mr. Mohammed Hashimhashimtk@iima.ac.inCC Room G1+91-79-6632 4121
6Ms. Sristhi Singhsristhis@iima.ac.inWing 8 A+91-79-6632 4871
7Ms. Warsha Thakurwarshat@iima.ac.inWing 4 K+91-79-6632 4840
8Ms. Pragatipragati@iima.ac.inWing 3 A+91-79-6632 4821
9Mr. Aveek Sahaaveeks@iima.ac.inWing 6 A+91-79-6632 4851
10Ms. Madhubanti Duttamadhubantid@iima.ac.inWing 13 A+91-79-6632 4921

 

Staging Enabled