Communication

Welcome to the Communication Area of the Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad! 

Established in 1999, the Communication Area is one of the youngest at the Institute. Since its inception, the Area has steadily increased its offerings to students and corporates. At present, the Communication Area offers the following courses:

Courses:

Post Graduate Programme in Management (PGP)/Post Graduate Programme in Food and Agri-Business Management (PGP-FABM)

Compulsory

Term I

Written Analysis and Communication

Term II

Workshop on Interviews and Presentations

Term III

Managerial Analysis and Communication

Electives

Term IV

Communicating Corporate Reputation

Term V

  1. Difficult Communication
  2. Communication Skills for Team and Leadership Effectiveness
  3. Managerial Communication
  4. Organizational Communication
  5. Persuasive Communication
  6. Strategic Negotiation Skills for Leaders
  7. Intercultural Communication Competence

 

Term VI

  1. Media and Society: The Economics, Politics, Ethics, and Technologies of Mass Communications
  2. Managerial Communication
  3. Strategic Communication in the Digital Era

 

  ePost Graduate Programme (ePGP)

  • Managerial Communication I (Core)
  • Managerial Communication II (Core)
  • Intercultural Communication Competence (Elective)
  • Communicating Corporate Reputation (Elective)

 

Post Graduate Programme in Management for Executives (PGPX)

  • Management Communication (Core)
  • The Persuasive Manager (Elective)

 

 Faculty Development Programme (FDP)/Fellow Programme in Management (FPM)

  • Communication for Management Teachers

 

Armed Forces Programme (AFP)

  • Communication for Managers

 

Executive Education Programmes

  • Taking People Along
  • The Winning Edge
  • Building Corporate Reputation

 

Project Courses

  • Corporate Accountability to Internal Stakeholders (2017-18)
  • Corporate Communication Insights from Bhagavad Gita (2018-19)

 

Research

  1. Prof. Asha Kaul
    • Communicating Corporate Reputation
    • Crisis Communication
    • CSR
    • Social Media
    • Influence
    • Gita

 

  1. Prof. Vaibhavi Kulkarni
    • Technology enabled change
    • Health Communication
    • Social Enterprises and startups
    • Gender Issues

 

  1. Prof. Meenakshi Sharma
    • Intercultural communication
    • Cultural studies
    • Ecocriticism


 

  1. Prof. Mukul Vasavada
    • Organizational Communication
    • Organizational Culture and Socialization
    • Mentoring and role development processes
    • Communication in Educational Settings

 

  1. Prof. Vijaya Sherry Chand – link (https://faculty.iima.ac.in/~vijaya/main.htm; https://www.iima.ac.in/web/areas-and-centres/areas-and-groups/rjmcei)

 

Area Members:

Primary Faculty Members
Prof. Asha Kaul ashakaul@iima.ac.in (Office) 91 79 6632 4813 
Prof. Vaibhavi Kulkarni vaibhavik@iima.ac.in (Office) 91 79 6632 4815 
Prof. Meenakshi Sharma msharma@iima.ac.in (Chairperson) (Office) 91 79 6632 4816

Secondary Faculty Members
Prof. Vijaya Sherry Chand vijaya@iima.ac.in (Office) 91 79 6632 4863

Adjunct Faculty
Prof. Mukul Vasavada mukul@iima.ac.in (Office) 91 79 6632 4924

Visiting Faculty

Dr. Satish Duryodhan satishduryodhan@yahoo.com
Dr. Sunil Unny Guptan sunilu@iima.ac.in
Prof. M.M. Monippally mpally@iima.ac.in
Prof. Rajeev Sharma rajeev@iima.ac.in 
Mr. Paranjoy Guha Thakurta paranjoy@gmail.com

 

Academic Associates:

1.

Mr. David Dinakaran

daviddinakaran@iima.ac.in

4821

2.

Ms. Vani Dwivedi Pandya

vanid@iima.ac.in

4931

3.

Ms. Apeksha Rajpurohit

apekshar@iima.ac.in

4951

4.

Mr. Akshay Malvankar

akshayhm@iima.ac.in

4360

5.

Mr. Mayank Manish

mayankm@iima.ac.in

4951

6.

Ms. Shuchi Mishra

shuchim@iima.ac.in

4920

7.

Mr. Sanvit Shah

sanvits@iima.ac.in

4921

8.

Ms. Meha Acharya Sanghvi

mehacharya@iim.ac.in

4881

9.

Ms. Khushboo Vachhani

khushboov@iima.ac.in

4428

 

Area Secretary:

Ms. Rini Vinod areasec-comm@iima.ac.in (D) 91 79 6632 4311

Staging Enabled