Business Policy

The area's primary focus is on organizational strategy and the functions of the chief executive. Research and consulting have been undertaken in such areas as managerial communication, management and analysis of competitive forces in industries, business growth and diversification, turnaround strategies, technology transfer, trans-national investments, management of public enterprises, women studies, small enterprises and entrepreneurship. The area plans to undertake major research on the impact of changes in economic policies on corporate ventures. 

Important courses offered by the area to PGP and FPM students are on strategy formulation and implementation, new venture management, power and politics in strategy implementation, written analysis and communication, managerial oral communication and strategic management. It also offers a very popular program on strategies for competitive advantage for practicing managers. 

The major streams of research and teaching in the Business Policy area are business policy, public enterprise management, international business, communication, entrepreneurship and legal aspects of business. Research interests of the faculty include strategic management, environmental analysis, corporate planning, international business, technology transfer and legal aspects of business and corporate communication. In these topics, a student can concentrate on any one of the following types of organizations or a combination: private sector, public sector, government, agriculture and rural sector, small scale industries, cooperatives, mass communication and educational / research scientific institutions.

Entrepreneurship
Entrepreneurship provides the basic nurturing ground in the process of wealth creation. It has emerged as a separate field in management, taking its roots from disciplines such as Economics, Psychology, Sociology and basic management principles.

The objectives of this course are :  

1.  to provide a comprehensive understanding of the basic concepts of entrepreneurship.

2.  to review and understand the important streams of research in entrepreneurship.

3.  to familiarize students with research methodologies.  


Strategic Management
This course conveys the concept of strategy and its usefulness by exposing students to a variety of organizational situations. It enables students to look at organizations in their totality and appreciate the inter-relationship among different functions.

The course helps students understand the strategy of organizations and thereby enables them to

(1) make or assist in the making of major decisions.
(2) formulate functional policies.
(3) participate in the implementation of corporate strategy.

Covers Firm / environment; Strategies and Resources; Strategies and Values; Business Ethics; Industry Structure Analysis; Evaluation of Corporate Strategy; Strategies for Growth and Diversification; Process of Strategic Planning; Stages of Corporate Development; Strategy Implementation through Structure, Values and Ideologies; McKinsey's Framework; Acquisition of Resources and Competence; Management of organizational Change.

Click here for Course Details

 

Area Members:

BUSINESS POLICY AREA FACULTY MEMBERS
Primary Faculty Members
Sr. No.FacultyEmailOfficeTelephoneSecretary
1 Prof. Anurag Agarwal akagarwal@iima.ac.in Wing 12 +91-79-6632 4916

Ms. Archana Premkumar
archana@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4891

2 Prof. Chirantan Chatterjee chirantanc@iima.ac.in Wing 15F +91-79-6632 4946

Mr. George P Mathew
george@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4831

3 Prof. Mohammad Fuad mohammad@iima.ac.in Wing 7 +91-79-6632 4869

Ms. Snehal Jethwa
snehal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4840

4 Prof. Amit Karna karna@iima.ac.in Wing 13 +91-79-6632 4928

Ms. Sujatha Jayprakash
sujatha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4911

5 Prof. Ajeet N Mathur anmathur@iima.ac.in Wing 6 +91-79-6632 4858

Mr. Ankur Sumesra
asumesra@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4851

6 Prof. M P Ram Mohan mprmohan@iima.ac.in Wing 16 +91-79-6632 4956

Ms. Savithri Amma P
savithri@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4851

7 Prof. Akhileshwar Pathak akhil@iima.ac.in Wing 15 +91-79-6632 4943

Mr. Harshad Parmar
harshad@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4941

8 Prof. Sunil Sharma sunilsharma@iima.ac.in Wing 16 +91-79-6632 4835

Ms. Vinodi Raveendran
vinodini@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4891

9 Prof. Chitra Singla chitras@iima.ac.in Wing 9 +91-79-6632 4882

Ms. Shylaja Deepak
shylaja@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4820

10 Prof. Anish Sugathan anishs@iima.ac.in Wing 13 +91-79-6632 4923

Ms. Riddhika H Thaker
riddhikat@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4911

11 Prof. Mukesh Sud mukeshs@iima.ac.in Wing 16 +91-79-6632 4833

Mr. Shoeb Chobdar
shoeb@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4831

Secondary Faculty Members
1 Prof. Rakesh Basant rakesh@iima.ac.in Wing 4 +91-79-6632 4838

Mr. George Mathew
george@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4831

2 Prof. Sunil Maheshwari sunilm@iima.ac.in Wing 01 +91-79-6632 4807

Ms. Latha Panicker
latha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4820

3 Prof. Sanjay Verma sverma@iima.ac.in Wing 01 +91-79-6632 4804

Ms. Hetal Shah
hetal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4941

 

Area Chairperson

Prof. Amit Karna

chr-bp@iima.ac.in

Wing 13

+91-79-6632 4928

Area Secretary

Mr. George P Mathew

areasec-bp@iima.ac.in

Wing 4A

+91-79-6632 4831

 

Visiting Faculty

  1. Prof. Samir K Barua
  2. Prof. Savan Godiawala
  3. Prof. S Manikutty
  4. Prof. Shailendra Mehta
  5. Prof. Uday Ranpara
  6. Prof. N Venkiteswaran



Academic Associates

Sr. No.NameEmailOfficeTelephone

01

Ms. Ajaydeep Deora

ajaydeep@ima.ac.in

Wing 12K

+91-79-6632 4920

02

Mr. Ankur Parekh

ankurparekh@iima.ac.in

Wing 9A

+91-79-6632 4881

03

Ms. Pinal Mehta

pinalm@iima.ac.in

Wing 15K

+91-79-6632 4950

04

Ms. Apoorva Rajvanshi

apoorvar@iima.ac.in

Wing 16A

+91-79-6632 4951

05

Mr. Harshit Khameshra

harshitk@iima.ac.in

Wing 9A

+91-79-6632 4881

06.

Ms. Wajihehatuzahra Rizwi

wajihehatuzahrar@iima.ac.in

Wing 13K

+91-79-6632 4930

07.

Ms. Kanchi Sanghvi

kanchis@iima.ac.in

G2 CC

+91-79-6632 4136

08.

Ms. Priya Porwal

priyap@iima.ac.in

Wing 14K

+91-79-6632 4940

09.

Ms. Mona Pattanaik

monap@iima.ac.in

G2 CC

+91-79-6632 4136

10.

Mr. Hardik M Panchmatia

hardikp@iima.ac.in

G2 CC

+91-79-6632 4136

11.

Mr. Sanket Sindhav

sanketsindhav@iima.ac.in

G2 CC

+91-79-6632 4136

 

Staging Enabled