Business Policy

The area's primary focus is on organizational strategy and the functions of the chief executive. Research and consulting have been undertaken in such areas as managerial communication, management and analysis of competitive forces in industries, business growth and diversification, turnaround strategies, technology transfer, trans-national investments, management of public enterprises, women studies, small enterprises and entrepreneurship. The area plans to undertake major research on the impact of changes in economic policies on corporate ventures. 

Important courses offered by the area to PGP and FPM students are on strategy formulation and implementation, new venture management, power and politics in strategy implementation, written analysis and communication, managerial oral communication and strategic management. It also offers a very popular program on strategies for competitive advantage for practicing managers. 

The major streams of research and teaching in the Business Policy area are business policy, public enterprise management, international business, communication, entrepreneurship and legal aspects of business. Research interests of the faculty include strategic management, environmental analysis, corporate planning, international business, technology transfer and legal aspects of business and corporate communication. In these topics, a student can concentrate on any one of the following types of organizations or a combination: private sector, public sector, government, agriculture and rural sector, small scale industries, cooperatives, mass communication and educational / research scientific institutions.

Entrepreneurship
Entrepreneurship provides the basic nurturing ground in the process of wealth creation. It has emerged as a separate field in management, taking its roots from disciplines such as Economics, Psychology, Sociology and basic management principles.

The objectives of this course are :  

1.  to provide a comprehensive understanding of the basic concepts of entrepreneurship.

2.  to review and understand the important streams of research in entrepreneurship.

3.  to familiarize students with research methodologies.  


Strategic Management
This course conveys the concept of strategy and its usefulness by exposing students to a variety of organizational situations. It enables students to look at organizations in their totality and appreciate the inter-relationship among different functions.

The course helps students understand the strategy of organizations and thereby enables them to

(1) make or assist in the making of major decisions.
(2) formulate functional policies.
(3) participate in the implementation of corporate strategy.

Covers Firm / environment; Strategies and Resources; Strategies and Values; Business Ethics; Industry Structure Analysis; Evaluation of Corporate Strategy; Strategies for Growth and Diversification; Process of Strategic Planning; Stages of Corporate Development; Strategy Implementation through Structure, Values and Ideologies; McKinsey's Framework; Acquisition of Resources and Competence; Management of organizational Change.
 

Area Members:

BUSINESS POLICY AREA FACULTY MEMBERS
Primary Faculty Members
Sr. No.FacultyEmailOfficeTelephoneSecretary
1 Prof. Anurag Agarwal akagarwal@iima.ac.in Wing 12 +91-79-6632 4916

Ms. Sarala
sarala@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4891

2 Prof. Amit Karna karna@iima.ac.in Wing 13 +91-79-6632 4928

Ms. Sujatha
sujatha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4911

3 Prof. Ajeet N Mathur anmathur@iima.ac.in Wing 6 +91-79-6632 4858

Mr. Ankur
asumesra@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4851

4 Prof. Ashis J Parmar ashisj@iima.ac.in NC +91-79-6632 4405

Mr. Hiren
hirens@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4851

5 Prof. Akhileshwar Pathak akhil@iima.ac.in Wing 15 +91-79-6632 4943

Mr. Harshad
harshad@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4941

6 Prof. M P Ram Mohan mprmohan@iima.ac.in Wing 16 +91-79-6632 4956

Ms. Lakshmi
lakshmi@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4941

7 Prof. Sunil Sharma sunilsharma@iima.ac.in Wing 16 +91-79-6632 4954

Ms. Lakshmi
lakshmi@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4941

8 Prof. Chitra Singla chitras@iima.ac.in Wing 9 +91-79-6632 4882

Ms. Shylaja
shylaja@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4820

9 Prof. Anish Sugathan anishs@iima.ac.in Wing 13 +91-79-6632 4923

Ms. Lakshmi
lakshmi@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4941

10 Prof. Mukesh Sud mukeshs@iima.ac.in Wing 16 +91-79-6632 4957

Mr. Shoeb
shoeb@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4831

Secondary Faculty Members
1 Prof. Rakesh Basant rakesh@iima.ac.in Wing 4 +91-79-6632 4838

Mr. George
george@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4831

2 Prof. Abraham Koshy akoshy@iima.ac.in Wing 10 +91-79-6632 4895

Ms. Sarala
sarala@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4891

3 Prof. Sunil Maheshwari sunilm@iima.ac.in Wing 01 +91-79-6632 4807

Ms. Latha
latha@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4820

4 Prof. N Ravichandran nravi@iima.ac.in Wing 02 +91-79-6632 4814

Mr. Hiren
hirens@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4851

5 Prof. Sanjay Verma sverma@iima.ac.in Wing 01 +91-79-6632 4804

Ms. Hetal
hetal@iima.ac.in
+91-79-6632 4941

 

Area Chairperson

Prof. Amit Karna

chr-bp@iima.ac.in

Wing 13

+91-79-6632 4928

Area Secretary

Mr. George P Mathew

areasec-bp@iima.ac.in

Wing 4A

+91-79-6632 4831

 

Visiting Faculty

  1. Prof. Samir K Barua
  2. Prof. Savan Godiawala
  3. Prof. S Manikutty
  4. Prof. Shailendra Mehta
  5. Prof. Uday Ranpara
  6. Prof. N Venkiteswaran



Academic Associates

Sr. No.NameEmailOfficeTelephone
01Ms. Ajaydeep Deoraajaydeep@ima.ac.inWing 12K+91-79-6632 4920
02Mr. Ankur Parekhankurparekh@iima.ac.inWing 9A+91-79-6632 4881
03Ms. Binita Shahbinitas@iima.ac.inWing 8A+91-79-6632 4871
04Mr. Daivat Bhattdaivatb@iima.ac.inWing 14A+91-79-6632 4931
05Ms. Meenal Choubeymeenalc@iima.ac.inWing 14A+91-79-6632 4931
06Ms. Pallavi Mehtapallavim@iima.ac.inWing 9A+91-79-6632 4881
07Ms. Pinal Mehtapinalm@iima.ac.inWing 15K+91-79-6632 4950
08Ms. Swathi Gurumoorthyswathig@iima.ac.inWing 4K+91-79-6632 4840
09Mr. Eapen Sameapens@iima.ac.inRA 1+91-79-6632 4421

 

Staging Enabled