Committee for Managing Gender Issues (ICC of IIMA)

The Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad (“IIMA”) has set up an Internal Committee known as the Committee for Managing Gender Issues (“CMGI”) in accordance with the  the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act and Rules, 2013 and regulations applicable to higher educational and technical institutions. The objective of CMGI goes beyond what is mandated by the Act and rules: CMGI is not only confined to dealing with complaints of Sexual Harassment towards women but also towards members of other genders and to work for creating awareness, sensitization, counselling, and educating about gender issues.

CONTACTING THE CMGI

In case you feel you have been subjected to sexual harassment or would like to make any suggestions to us regarding curbing sexual harassment or gender bias on campus please reach out to us at:

Email: chr-cmgi@iima.ac.in
Phone: 9712915533

Please note that each communication with the CMGI is completely strictly confidential.

OBJECTIVES of CMGI

  • Creating a campus free from discrimination, harassment, retaliation or sexual assault at all levels
  • Proactively move to curb all forms of sexual harassment of employees and students;
  • Create awareness about what constitutes sexual harassment including hostile environment harassment and quid pro quo harassment;
  • Organize gender sensitization programmes and workshops for the faculty, officers, functionaries associated with IIMA, and students, to ensure knowledge and awareness of the rights, entitlements and responsibilities enshrined in the Act, Rules, Regulations, and under this Policy;
  • Act decisively against all gender based harassment perpetrated against employees and students primarily women employees and students and with the recognition that some male students and students of the third gender are vulnerable to many forms of sexual harassment and humiliation and exploitation and thus extend services to them as well;
  • Be responsible to initiate all proceedings as required by law to punish those guilty of sexual harassment within IIMA Campus;


 

MEMBERS of CMGI

Sr. No.

Name

Office

Email

Extn.

1

Prof. Ernesto Noronha, Member

 

enoronha@iima.ac.in

4856

2

Prof. Navdeep Mathur, Member

 

navdeep@iima.ac.in

4406

3

Prof. Naman Desai, Warden (ex-officio)

 

namand@iima.ac.in

4386

4

Prof. Pritha Dev (Chairperson)

 

pritha@iima.ac.in

4934

5

Prof. Vaibhavi Kulkarni, Member

 

vaibhavik@iima.ac.in

4815

6

Ms. Ishita Solanki, Member

Accreditation & Ranking Office

ishita@iima.ac.in

4645

7

Ms. Prita Jha, External Member

 

pritarjha@gmail.com

 

8

Ms. Sumitha S. Nair, Member-Secretary

sumitha@iima.ac.in

4116

9

Ms. Kashika Sud, Student member

phd17kashikas@iima.ac.in

 

as of July 2021

 

Documents

  1. CMGI Policy

 

Newsletter

  1. Issue 4, June 2021
  2. Issue 3, May 2021
  3. Issue 2, April 2021
  4. Issue 1, March 2021

 

 

Staging Enabled